Not my best idea

To be filed under: don’t be stupid, Keith

Last week, my bride expressed her dissatisfaction with our walk in pantry.  You see, we have 10 foot ceilings in the kitchen and they only put shelves up to the seven foot mark.  Therefore we had 3 feet of open wall space in the pantry.  I had stated when we moved in that I would put another shelf on 2 of these walls.  Now, after 8 years, I was called on it.

So.  feeling better than I have in 20 years or so, I let it be known that I was going to put these shelves in.  I purchased the solid wood shelves ( I hate particle board) and took them to the shop to pre-paint.  After priming, I put enough coats of paint to avoid sanding them. ;-D   Then, last Saturday, I started the job.  Feeling really good, I went at it like I was getting paid.  Every once in a while, Eloise or Amanda would grab me and force me to slow down or take a break.  In a couple of hours, I was finished.  In putting the ladder and tools back, I reflected on the job.  And got paranoid.  I foresaw great problems that night or the next day.  In anticipation, I spent time in the hot tub and with my great friend, Mister Blue Ice.  I even double dosed my Seven + Pro.  Much to my surprise, I slept well and had No Ill Effects the next day.  I was reminded of the saying “God looks after fools and children”

I am grateful for the reprieve.  I will try to make sure that I am more judicious next time……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

